Porridge Obsession Continues – 2 More Ways to Excite your Oats

IMG_8735

Porridge (1 portion)

50 grams of oat flour
2 deciliters of skimmed milk
Pinch of salt

I have made my fair share of oatmeal before, some of you might have read my Porridge Obsession post? Anyhow, the obsession is back on. Now, I’ve slightly changed the recipe. I now use my blender to grind the oats into a semi/fine oat flour. This is the same oat flour that I used for my Scottish oatcakes  recipe, and I have had it standing around in a container for way too long.

Banana and Apple Porridge

Banana and Apple Porridge

1 portion of porridge
1/2 banana
ca. 1 tea-spoon of Acacia honey
Cinnamon sugar
1 small Golden Delicious

Add the oat flour, salt and milk to a sauce pan, preferably teflon/non-stick, and let boil up on medium to high heat while stirring. Peel the apple and the banana and cut into slices. Add to a non-stick frying pan with honey, I sprinkled it lightly over so I’m not sure how much I added, and add a light sprinkle of cinnamon sugar. Not too much of either, the fruits are sweet as it is. Fry up while the porridge is boiling up, the banana will crispen and the apple soften. Add the porridge to a bowl and top with fruits.

Forest Berry Porridge

Forest Berry Porridge

1 portion of porridge
1-2 table spoons of raw-stirred forest berry jam

The forest berry jam is a little byproduct from my Forest Berry Cream Cake. I used a bag of frozen mixed forest berries and a bag of frozen blue berries for the cake and had some left over. The juice from the frozen forest berry mix gave good flavour to the frozen blueberries that I just mashed up with a fork. I added some sugar too, but not too much. As with the recipe above, add the oat flour, salt and milk to a sauce pan, preferably teflon/non-stick, and let boil up on medium to high heat while stirring. Add the porridge to a bowl and top with a table-spoon or two of the mixed berry jam.

INSPIRED BY JAMIE OLIVER
Leave a Reply

