Homemade Coriander Basil Pesto

Coriander Basil Pesto

Ingredients

One good handful of Coriander
One small handful of Basil leaves (ca. 6 stems worth)
130 millilitre Parmesan (ca. 52 grams)
Zest of 3/4 of one lime
Salt by choice (3/4 tea-spoon)
1-2 decilitres of olive oil
100-125 grams of Cashews

Making Coriander Basil Pesto

What I have noticed when making pesto is well that it’s dead easy, and how you vary it is just up to you. The basic ingredients, fresh herbs, garlic cloves, nuts and parmesan is all variable in sorts and size. This time I had too much coriander on my hands and a little fresh basil left on a winter struck plant. So I added both, coriander, with stem and leaves, and basil with just the leaves. I had cashews in the pantry and some grated parmesan in the fridge (I admit I sometimes buy the ready grated and as of yet I have not been able to distinguish the difference at least not when pesto is concerned).

I toasted the cashews lightly on the frying pan, medium heat you don’t want it going black.

Anyways I had a lime sitting in my kitchen window and garlic cloves to match. Coriander tastes brilliant with lime so that one was a given. I can’t quite remember the amount of garlic cloves, but I think how many you use will depend on your own taste buds, there is no rule against adding some more if you take too few in the beginning. The oil measure is again uncertain, as usual I didn’t take out a measuring cup. I gave it two good clunks, which might have been as much as 1-2 decilitres, what is important is that the pesto is not too dry. Add all the ingredients to a food processor (in my case I used a litre measurer and a stick mixer), mix well, taste season, add more of this or the other. Add to a clean jar and store in the fridge. You’ll be surprised how long it keeps.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Coriander Basil Pesto

Leave a Reply

